The Ten Minus One Plus Two

Equals Eleven Commandments

Find out which of the Ten Commandments is no longer in effect for now.

What Commandments did Jesus add?


The ten commandments are found in Exodus chapter 20. They were spoken by God directly to the people of Israel, whom God had brought out of Egypt by Moses. The people heard the voice of God speaking the ten commandments. God spoke many other commandments to Moses in private for him to share with the people. Some of what God said concerned only the Jewish religion, but much of what God said still applies to all people everywhere.

Only one of the ten commandments in Exodus 20 deals directly with the Jewish religion and that’s the commandment concerning the Sabbath. The New Testament clearly teaches that present day Christians do not keep any special days, neither the Sabbath or Passover, or any other day including Christmas. Acts chapter 15 and Colossians chapter 2 explain this very well. This is the “minus one” in the title.

All the Old Testament commandments dealing with righteousness are still in effect as explained by Jesus in Matthew 5: 17-48.  Jesus even said your righteousness must exceed what was taught in the Old Testament. He quoted several Old Testament commandments and proceeded to make them even stricter for New Testament Christians.

Then later Jesus was asked, “Master, which is the great commandment in the law?” (Matthew 22:36)  In answering the question, Jesus does not quote any one of the ten commandments from Exodus chapter 20, but quotes two scriptures, one from Deuteronomy 6:5 and one from Leviticus 19:18.  All the commandments are important but Jesus moved these to the top of the list. These would be the “plus two” in the title and are written below.

The "eleven commandments" reorganized according to their New Testament importance would be as follows:


1. And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might Deut. 6:5. 

2. ...thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself Leviticus 19:18.

3. I am the LORD thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt have no other gods before me. Exodus 20:2-3 (Worship and serve the one true God only, and his Son Jesus Christ)

4. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image. Exodus 20:4 (This refers to items made for religious purposes and includes statues you see in churches and people’s yards)

5. Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain. Exodus 20:7

6. Honor thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee. Exodus 20:12

7. Thou shalt not kill. Exodus 20:13

8. Thou shalt not commit adultery. Exodus 20:14

9. Thou shalt not steal. Exodus 20:15

10. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour. Exodus 20:16 (This is the commandment against lying. God promised to put the people who tell lies in hell. Revelation 21:8)

11. Thou shalt not covet anything... that is thy neighbour‘s. Exodus 20:17 (This is the commandment against being covetous and greedy)


Table of Contents